UTC Opening Service

“2019 will be a year of new beginnings”, said Rev Peter Walker, the newly appointed Principal of United Theological College (UTC) during the Opening Service of the College on Friday 1 March 2019.

The annual opening service is an important gathering for UTC, as students, staff, faculty and the broader Uniting Church educational community come together to begin a new academic year, to renew the covenant of working together, and to welcome new students and candidates for specified ministries.

The Opening Service includes the presentation of candidates who are commencing their core phase of formation in 2019, to Dean on Formation, the Reverend Christine Sorensen; Hee Won Chang, Allison Forrest, Natasha He, Gail Hinton, Brendon Lukin, Kyungtae Lee, Myengcheol (John) Oh, Jon Owen, and Geoff Wellington.

With the following candidates entering into their advances stage of their core phase of Formation; Ian Forest-Jones, Amanda Hay, Sunny Lee, Duncan McDiarmid, Liam Miller, Sally Yabsley-Bell and Phil Dokmanovic.

United Theological College would like to give special thanks to Rev Niall Reid (former Moderator of NSW/ACT Synod), Michael Anderson (Chairperson, UME), Glen Powell (ED UME), Companions of the College, Charles Sturt University Faculty, Uniting Aboriginal and Islander Community Congress members, colleagues from the Mission Strategy, Mission Enablement and Vital Leadership teams within UME, Uniting Venues colleagues, new students and candidates and their family and friends for joining us on this special occasion.

We look forward to classes commencing on Monday 4 March 2019 at United Theological College.

Read the UTC Commencement Sermon, from Principal Rev Peter Walker HERE.

Comments are closed.