UTC History

United Theological College came into being on 1 July 1974 by resolution of the Congregational Union, the Methodist Church and the Presbyterian Church in NSW. The first courses commenced in February 1975. United Theological College is the successor to the former United Faculty of Theology which, for over 50 years, was a joint arrangement between Camden College, Leigh College and St Andrew’s Theological Hall, the theological colleges of the three denominations. In 1977, when the Congregational, Methodist and Presbyterian Churches united to form the Uniting Church in Australia (UCA), United Theological College became the theological college of the NSW Synod of the Uniting Church.

Until 1987, United Theological College was located in Enfield at the site of the former Leigh College. In April of 1987 UTC moved to The Centre for Ministry at North Parramatta, three kilometres from the business centre of the city of Parramatta and twenty kilometres west of downtown Sydney.

UTC was a foundation member of the Sydney College of Divinity. It valued greatly the ecumenical and academic partnerships within this consortium. The opportunity of becoming a partner in the School of Theology, Charles Sturt University gradually emerged and was acted upon in two stages. The first led to UTC doing its research and postgraduate degrees through CSU. On 6 November 2006 an agreement was assigned with Charles Sturt University and St Mark’s National Theological Centre in Canberra, and all degrees were then transferred into the university.

The College now has a wonderful support environment for all people.  About 50% of all students now come from an ethnic background which is not Anglo-Celtic. There is a diversity of languages and cultural values in the student body. A great majority of students are no longer studying for a specified ministry, and the number of students doing postgraduate work has increased markedly in recent years.

We are very proud of the personal, professional and caring environment that United Theological College provides to students.

For more information contact Student Administration
Phone (+61 2) 8838 8914
Office Hours: 9 am – 5 pm (Mon – Fri)
Email: utc@utc.edu.au